2019 ELECTION TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Election

The Board of Directors seeks each year to fill any vacant positions.

Among its other responsibilities, the Board is accountable for the institution's security and stability and for overseeing compliance with the statutory provisions governing its operation. Its duties include defining the federal credit union's strategic direction and overseeing its management and activities.

Members are encouraged to participate in two ways:

  • by running for election to serve on the Board of Directors;
  • by voting for the candidates who, upon election, will represent their interests on the Board of Directors.

Roles and Responsibilities

Responsibilities of Board of Directors

The role of the Board of Directors is to ensure that appropriate organizational structures, policies and control measures are in place, including with respect to strategic planning, the direction and mission of the Caisse, etc.

Responsibilities of directors

The director's role is to oversee management of the institution's activities.

Directors also play an important role at the community level in terms of public perception of the Caisse. The image portrayed to the public must be consistent with a sound institution with a focus on service to, and the well-being of, its members. All board members are expected to demonstrate the highest professionalism.

Election process

Steps Deadline
1. Formation of the Nomination Committee October 2018
2. Start of the call for candidates November 19 to December 7, 2018
3. Information session for candidates January 7 to January 19, 2019
4. Confirmation of chosen candidates February 20, 2019
5. Election April 5 to 19, 2019
6. Annual General Meeting April 23, 2019

 

Call for candidates

Candidate selection process
The Nomination Committee is responsible for ensuring that candidates comply with the provisions of the Caisse by-laws and pertinent legislation. All candidates have gone through a rigorous screening process involving the completion of a series of questionnaires concerning their qualifications, integrity and knowledge about the Caisse in addition to an interview with the Nomination Committee.

The Committee is also mandated to evaluate each candidate based on the sixteen (16) competency areas as follows:

  • Boards and Committee
  • Business Development
  • Communication
  • Cooperative Spirit
  • Cybersecurity
  • Experience as a Director
  • Financial Literacy
  • Governance
  • Human Resources
  • Internal Controls
  • Insurance
  • Knowledge of the Caisse and the Industry
  • Leadership
  • Regulatory Compliance
  • Risk Management
  • Strategic Planning
Four (4) vacant Board positions:
  • Northeast area: 1 position to be filled
  • Northwest area: 2 positions to be filled
  • Southeast area: 1 position to be filled
Please note that calls for candidates may also be used to fill future vacancies.

Term: Three (3) years

Call for candidates form
Before submitting your application, we encourage you to review the application guide (in French only) providing general information to prospective applicants concerning the rules and process followed.

The call for applications is over.
Online The call for applications is over.
OR
Mail
Fax
E-mail
The call for applications is over.

Deadline: December 7, 2018

Meet the candidates

In late 2018, a call for nomination was made to fill positions on the Caisse's Board of Directors. All candidates have gone through a rigorous screening process involving the completion of a series of questionnaires concerning their qualifications, integrity and knowledge about the Caisse in addition to an interview with the Nomination Committee. The Committee is also mandated to evaluate each candidate based on the sixteen (16) competency areas.

The following candidates have submitted their names for vacant positions on the Board of Directors of Caisse populaire acadienne ltée:

NORTHWEST AREA: TWO (2) POSITIONS TO BE FILLED

Originally from Lac Baker, Réjean has two children. A graduate of the Saint John Institute of Technology, he worked in the New Brunswick public service for more than 40 years in a range of management, hiring, staff evaluation, budgeting and project management roles. He remains active in his community as chair of the board of Villa des Lacs, district deputy for the Knights of Columbus and member of his regional development commission. He has served previously on a caisse board, including as chair, and is a former member of his Regional Solid Waste Commission.
Originally from St-Hilaire, New Brunswick, Guy graduated from Cité des Jeunes A.-M.-Sormany before going on to earn degrees in business administration and education from the Université de Moncton and a master's degree in school administration from the Université Laval. He was a teacher and department head at Cité des Jeunes school for 32 years and has taught accounting courses at the Université de Moncton, Edmundston campus. He served on the St Hilaire municipal council from 1983 to 1986.
Lloyd Plourde has worked as a technical support manager for the past 12 years and been employed by Primus since 1997. With his strong skills in HR management and administration, he has served on caisse boards since 1999 and on the board of directors of UNI Financial Cooperation since 2016. A loyal cooperator, he also shares his knowledge and experience as a board member of a Regional Hockey League team. During the summer, he enjoys camping and exploring on his ATV.
A business leader in heavy equipment sales, Allain has a clear understanding of the challenges and opportunities in northern New Brunswick (Restigouche, Victoria and Madawaska counties). Active as an administrator in the Caisse movement since 2003, Allain was elected to the board of the Fédération des caisses populaires in 2011 and re-elected in 2014. With his extensive cooperative and financial experience, Allain has successfully put his expertise and knowledge to work for the members of UNI Financial Cooperation.

SOUTHEAST AREA: ONE (1) POSITION TO BE FILLED

Roland T. Cormier is currently employed at Villa Providence. A former chair of the board of the Fédération des caisses populaires acadiennes, he has been active in the cooperative movement since 1990. He currently sits on the board of UNI and is chair of the Human Resources Committee and the Board of Trustees. He is also vice chair of the pension board for New Brunswick nursing home employees. He has previously served on the board of NB Liquor and is a current member of the New Bunswick Financial and Consumer Services Commission. He is originally from Scoudouc.
Hugh Murphy has been a lawyer since 1984, working first in Toronto and then relocating to Moncton in 1990. He earned a bachelor of business administration degree from St. Francis Xavier University and a law degree from the University of Ottawa. He was founding president of the Alliance française de Moncton and has served on Council of the Law Society of New Brunswick, the école Sainte-Bernadette parents' committee and other similar bodies. He and his wife have five children between the ages of 10 and 20.

NORTHEAST AREA: ONE (1) POSITION TO BE FILLED | ELECTED BY ACCLAMATION

Following the candidate selection process, the nomination of one (1) candidate were accepted. The candidate is consequently elected by acclamation, meaning that no election will be held for this region this year.


Gilles Godin worked for 34 years in multiple provincial government departments. At the time of his retirement in 2004, his responsibilities as a regional supervisor at Service NB included the client services section, the land registry and map products. He has been involved in the caisse movement for many years, including as chair of the board of the caisse populaire in Beresford, president of the Association des president(e)s and Fédération board member. He currently serves on the board of UNI Financial Cooperation.

It is important to note that the election of the candidates must be confirmed at the annual general meeting on April 23, 2019. Routine checks must also be conducted to ensure that the elected persons still meet the eligibility conditions as they had declared the time of nomination.

Vote

Voting is now closed.

You had until April 19, 2019 at 6:00 p.m. to vote online or by phone. Instructions were sent by mail to members 16 years of age or older.

Annual general meeting

The annual general meeting taking place on April 23, 2019.

Notice of the meeting will be distributed by mail, for this purpose, at least 21 days before the date of the meeting along with any correspondence concerning the vote.

Caisse populaire acadienne ltée
Attention of the General Secretary
295 Saint-Pierre Blvd. West
P.O. Box 5554
Caraquet NB E1W 1B7

Telephone:
506 726-4485 | 1 800 461-1318 option 3

E-mail:
uni.secretairegeneral@acadie.com

ÉLECTION 2019 AU CONSEIL D'ADMINISTRATION

Élection

Chaque année, le conseil d'administration souhaite pourvoir des postes vacants.

Le conseil d'administration, entre autres, est garant de la sûreté et de la solidité de l'institution et de l'observation des dispositions législatives qui la régissent. Il doit notamment établir l'orientation stratégique de la coopérative de crédit fédérale et en superviser la gestion et les activités.

Les membres sont invités à participer de deux façons :

  • en posant leur candidature à l'élection pour devenir administrateur au sein du conseil d'administration;
  • en votant pour des candidats qui les représenteront, une fois élus, comme administrateurs au conseil d'administration.

Rôles et responsabilités

Responsabilités du conseil d'administration

Le rôle du conseil d'administration est de s'assurer que des structures organisationnelles, des politiques et des mesures de contrôle appropriées sont en place, telles planification stratégique, orientation et mission de la Caisse, etc.

Responsabilités de l'administrateur

Le rôle de l'administrateur est de superviser la gestion des activités.

Également, il joue un rôle important dans ses communautés dans la façon que sera perçue la Caisse. L'image projetée au grand public doit démontrer une institution solide qui a à coeur le service et le bien-être de ses membres. L'administrateur doit être d'un professionnalisme exemplaire.

Processus électoral

Étapes Date limite
1. Formation du comité de nomination Octobre 2018
2. Appel de candidatures 19 novembre au 7 décembre 2018
3. Session d'information et entrevue de chaque candidat 7 au 19 janvier 2019
4. Confirmation de la liste des candidats sélectionnés 20 février 2019
5. Élection 5 au 19 avril 2019
6. Assemblée générale annuelle 23 avril 2019

 

Appel de candidatures

Processus de sélection des candidats

Le comité de nomination doit s'assurer que les candidats rencontrent les exigences du règlement administratif de la Caisse et de la législation. Chaque candidat doit participer à un processus de sélection exhaustif durant lequel il doit compléter divers questionnaires relativement à ses compétences, intégrité et connaissances de la Caisse, en plus de se soumettre à une entrevue auprès du comité de nomination.

Ce comité doit également évaluer chacun des candidats en fonction de seize (16) champs de compétences fonctionnelles, soit :

  • Assurances
  • Communication
  • Conformité réglementaire
  • Connaissances de la Caisse et de l'industrie
  • Contrôle interne
  • Cybersécurité
  • Développement des affaires
  • Esprit coopératif
  • Expérience comme administrateur
  • Fonctionnement du conseil d'administration et de ses comités
  • Gestion des risques
  • Gouvernance
  • Leadership
  • Littératie financière
  • Planification stratégique
  • Ressources humaines
Quatre (4) postes vacants au sein du conseil d'administration :
  • Région du Nord-Est : 1 poste à combler
  • Région du Nord-Ouest : 2 postes à combler
  • Région du Sud-Est : 1 poste à combler
Notez que les appels de candidatures pourraient également être utilisés dans le but de pourvoir de futurs postes vacants.

Durée du mandat : Trois (3) ans

Formulaire d'appel de candidature
Avant de soumettre votre candidature, nous vous invitons à consulter le guide d'appel de candidatures qui vise à informer les candidats de l'information générale relative aux règles et processus.

L'appel de candidatures est terminé.
En ligne L'appel de candidatures est terminé.
OU
Poste
Télécopieur
Courriel
L'appel de candidatures est terminé.

Date limite : 7 décembre 2018

Annonce des candidatures

À la fin de l'année 2018, les membres ont eu l'occasion de postuler pour des postes à combler au sein du conseil d'administration de la Caisse. Tous les candidats ont participé à un processus de sélection exhaustif durant lequel ils ont dû compléter divers questionnaires relativement à leurs compétences, intégrité et connaissance de la Caisse, en plus de se soumettre à une entrevue auprès du comité de nomination. Ce comité devait également évaluer chacun des candidats en fonction de seize (16) champs de compétences fonctionnelles.

Les candidats suivants ont posé leur candidature pour des postes à combler au conseil d'administration de Caisse populaire acadienne ltée :

Région Nord-Ouest : Deux (2) postes à combler

Natif de Lac Baker et père de deux enfants. Diplômé de l'Institut de Technologie de Saint-Jean, N.-B. J'ai travaillé au-delà de 40 ans pour la fonction publique du N.-B. à faire différentes tâches de gestion, d'embauche, d'évaluation du personnel, budgets, projets. Toujours impliqué dans la communauté comme président de la Villa des Lacs, député de district des Chevaliers de Colomb, Commission de développement régional. Ex-président et administrateur de Caisse populaire et ex-membre de la Commission d'urbanisme, Gestion des déchets solides.
Natif de St-Hilaire, Nouveau-Brunswick. Diplômé de la Cité des Jeunes A.-M. Sormany. Détenteur d'un baccalauréat en administration des affaires et en éducation de l'Université de Moncton, d'une maîtrise en administration scolaire de l'Université Laval. Enseignant et chef de département à l'école Cité des Jeunes pendant 32 ans. Chargé de cours en comptabilité à l'Université de Moncton, campus d'Edmundston. Conseiller municipal de St-Hilaire de 1983 à 1986.
Gestionnaire en soutien technique en informatique depuis 12 ans et employé par Primus depuis 1997. Possédant de solides compétences en gestion RH et administration, il siège au CA des caisses depuis 1999 et administrateur au sein du conseil d'administration chez UNI Coopération financière depuis 2016. Fidèle coopérateur, il partage ses connaissances et expériences comme membre du conseil d'administration d'une équipe dans le Circuit Régional de Hockey. Quand la chaleur arrive, il s'adonne au camping et excursions en véhicule tout-terrain.
Homme d'affaires oeuvrant en vente d'équipements lourds, Allain comprend très bien les défis et les enjeux du nord, soit le Restigouche, Victoria et le Madawaska. Actif dans le mouvement des caisses depuis 2003 comme administrateur, Allain fut élu au conseil d'administration de la Fédération des caisses populaires en 2011 et réélu en 2014. Fort de ses expériences coopératives et financières, Allain a su mettre à profit ses nombreuses compétences et connaissances pour les membres d'UNI Coopération financière.

Région Sud-Est : UN (1) poste à combler

Employé à la Villa Providence. Ancien président du conseil d'administration de la Fédération des caisses populaires acadiennes. Actif dans le mouvement depuis 1990. Siège actuellement sur le conseil d'UNI et président du comité des ressources humaines ainsi que du conseil des fiduciaires. Vice-président du plan de pension des employés des foyers de soins du NB. Ancien membre d'Alcool NB, Service NB et présentement membre de la Commission des services financiers et des services aux consommateurs du NB. Natif de Scoudouc.
Hugh Murphy est avocat depuis 1984, tout d'abord à Toronto et, depuis 1990, à Moncton. Il a obtenu un baccalauréat en administration des affaires de l'Université St. Francis Xavier et un diplôme en droit de l'Université d'Ottawa. Il fut président fondateur de l'Alliance française de Moncton, membre du Conseil du Barreau du Nouveau-Brunswick, comité des parents de l'école Sainte-Bernadette et d'autres conseils similaires. Son épouse et lui ont cinq enfants âgés de 10 à 20 ans.

Région Nord-Est : UN (1) POSTE À combler | éLU PAR ACCLAMATION

Au terme du processus de sélection, un (1) candidat a maintenu sa candidature pour ce poste. Il devient donc élu par acclamation, ce qui fait en sorte qu'il n'y aura pas d'élection pour cette région cette année.


Oeuvré pendant 34 ans dans différents ministères provinciaux. À ma retraite en 2004, mes responsabilités à titre de surveillant régional de Service NB étaient la section service à la clientèle, enregistrement des biens fonciers et la cartographie. Mon implication dans le mouvement des caisses s'échelonne sur plusieurs années, soit comme président de la Caisse populaire de Beresford, président de l'Association des président(e)s et administrateur sur le conseil d'administration de la Fédération. Présentement administrateur à UNI Coopération financière.

Il est important de noter que l'élection de candidats doit être confirmée à l'assemblée générale annuelle du 23 avril 2019. Des vérifications d'usage devront également être effectuées afin de s'assurer que les personnes élues remplissent toujours les conditions d'éligibilité déclarées lors du processus de mise en candidature.

Vote

Le vote est maintenant terminé.

Vous aviez jusqu'au 19 avril 2019 à 18 h pour voter en ligne ou par téléphone. Les instructions ont été envoyées par la poste aux membres de 16 ans et plus.

Assemblée générale annuelle

Les membres seront convoqués à l'assemblée générale annuelle qui aura lieu le 23 avril 2019.

En effet, un avis de convocation sera envoyé par la poste au moins 21 jours avant la tenue de l'assemblée annuelle, accompagné de la correspondance relative au vote.

Note : Le genre masculin est utilisé sans aucune intention de discrimination et dans le seul but d'alléger le texte.

Caisse populaire acadienne ltée
À l'attention du secrétaire général
295, boul. Saint-Pierre Ouest
Case postale 5554
Caraquet NB E1W 1B7

Téléphone :
506 726-4485 | 1 800 461-1318 option 3

Courriel :
uni.secretairegeneral@acadie.com